Climate Smart Communities Task Force

In 2009, New York State launched the Climate Smart Communities (CSC) program, an interagency initiative that encourages local communities to take action on reducing greenhouse gas emissions and adapting to climate change. The Village of Hastings-on-Hudson was designated by New York State as a Climate Smart Community (CSC) in 2010.  The Climate Smart Communities Certification Program is a set of 100 actions, developed by the NY State Department of Environmental Conservation, that provides a transformational roadmap for municipalities. Under this program, the Village of Hastings-on-Hudson, together with participating communities across NY state, has committed to transitioning to zero carbon emissions, investing in community resilience, restoring ecosystems, building a more just, healthy, and livable future, and doing our part within our region and beyond to contribute to climate mitigation and adaptation. To learn more about the Climate Smart Communities Program, see the NY State CSC Website, which includes a complete list of New York State's Climate Smart Communities and their current certification status. 
Climate Smart Communities Task Force Established:
In September 2019, the Village established a Climate Smart Communities Task Force (CSC TF) to help document CSC-recommended actions the Village has taken showing mitigation of or adaptation to climate change. The CSC TF planned a broad suite of new initiatives that will ensure a climate-resilient environment for our Village in the future.  Click here for the Resolution Establishing the CSC Task Force & Terms of Reference.

Since its establishment, the Hastings-on-Hudson CSC TF has documented and secured approval for 48 actions and the Village is proud to have been designated a bronze-certified Climate Smart Community in March 2020.

For more information on the goals, priorities, and accomplishments of the CSC TF see Overview of the Hastings CSC Task Force (presented in January 2020) and the July 7th Update Report (presented July 2020), and click on the links below:
The CSC Task Force meets the 2nd Tuesday of every month at 6:30 pm. If you are interested in volunteering or attending a meeting, you are most welcome, so please drop us a line. 
c                 b


Board of Trustees

Village Staff

Brad Dunn


Jean Hamerman

Conservation Commission

Haven Colgate

Conservation Commission

Spencer Weart

Energy Working Group

Anjali Chen

Parks and Recreation Commission

Iris Hiskey Arno


Ion Simonides


Alison Waldron