VILLAGE OF HASTINGS-ON-HUDSON, NEW YORK TRANSPORTATION WORKING GROUP REGULAR MEETING December 20, 2016

A regular meeting was held by the Transportation Working Group on Tuesday, December 20, 2016 at 7:15 p.m. in the Hastings Village Hall.

PRESENT: Jeanette Sawyer Cohen (Chair), Matt Hobby, Richard Bass, Dan Sbrega, Jim Nolan

School Safety Zone Discussion

Matt outlined which zones can be designated school zones, including along Hillside Ave., Broadway, School Street and Mt. Hope. This designation allows additional signage and lower posted speeds.

Safety Committee Recommendations for Review

Chief Visalli has asked in a email that the TWG review Safety Committee recommendations and, if we approve of them, bring them forward to the BoT. We agreed to try that. We reviewed four recommendations (see below) and agreed with 1, 3, 4. Recommendation 2 will wait because of a speed zone plan in the area.

- 1) Create a 4 way stop on Branford Road at the intersection with the Fenway and Fenwick Road. It is currently a 2 way stop.
- 2) Place a slow curve ahead sign on Mt. Hope Blvd. westbound at Valley Place.
- 3) Place truck no right turn sign on Warburton Avenue northbound at Pinecrest Parkway.
- 4) Place a no truck except local delivery sign on Warburton Avenue southbound at Pinecrest Parkway.

We also discussed recommendations to calm traffic on Ravensdale:

- stop signs at Branford/Rosedale—we agreed it makes a lot of sense.
- three way to four way stop at Kent, with rumble strip and Stop Sign Ahead sign before westbound curve—we need more time to digest it and be clear on the issue. Will consider next meeting, Jan 24.

Warburton Discussion

Richard brought up suggestions for the street, to be discussed later next month. 22% of traffic accidents in the city happen on Warburton.

James Street Update

Discussed the data gathered in a survey about speed and traffic count, and the process used to gather it.

Next meeting

The next regular meeting will be held at 7:15 pm on January 24, 2017.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair adjourned the regular meeting at 9:15 p.m.